Hoping, dreaming, & planning for year 1.

photo-1453928582365-b6ad33cbcf64

People! I have a job. And a classroom. And students who will be my responsibility this year. (What??!!) My world is about to look completely different in just a few short weeks.

It almost doesn’t feel real. I’m pinching myself on the regular.

But I’m excited. And I’ve been thinking A LOT about this upcoming year, and wanted to share some things that are on my heart and on my mind.

  • More than anything, I want my students to know that I care about them.
  • I want to care less about making a name for myself, and more about making a future for my students.
  • I want to steer clear of the Negative Nancys. Negative attitudes are super contagious, and ain’t nobody got time for that.
  • I want to take time to reflect. I’m not sure if I’ll do this weekly or biweekly, but I know that I will need to take time to think about how things are going and how I could improve. I don’t want to get so busy that I forget to think.
  • I don’t want to take myself too seriously. Yes, I’ll probably make a fool of myself from time to time. But I’ll live.
  • I want to stay true to myself. I’ve heard it said that, “teachers are pleasers”, and I’m definitely a pleaser. BUT — I don’t want to be afraid to gently rock the boat and stick to what I believe in.
  • I want to work hard and stay organized. Pretty vague, I know. But I’m hoping these things will take more shape as I get started.
  • I don’t want to be afraid to ask for help. I want to model for my students that asking question is a sign of strength, not weakness.
  • I want to remember to give myself grace. I’ve got big dreams and plans, but I’m not naive enough to think that this year isn’t going to be really hard at times. I want to remember that I’m new and I’m learning, and I’m going to make mistakes.
  • And I want to have fun. Life is way too short to not smile, laugh, and get a little crazy sometimes.

16afa321d74fbac7077a533ccb12b732

 

 

Leave a Reply

