my first week.

While we were eating dinner on Friday night, and my husband asked me an awesome question.

If you had to pick 2 words to describe your first week, what would they be? 

The first word came quick, I didn’t even have to think.

EXHAUSTING.

All the teachers out there know exactly what I mean. By Friday afternoon, I was basically a zombie. The walking dead. I didn’t even know my own name.

YES. Couldn’t have said it better myself.

I didn’t have to think very hard about the second word either.

FULFILLING.

I know I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be. Doing exactly what I’m supposed to be doing. And I feel incredibly grateful that the Lord has given me this opportunity.

To teach. To touch lives. To be an encouraging light. And to do math!

Basically, after my first week of teaching I’m feeling all the feels. Here’s a brief rundown.

  • It was H.A.R.D. Most of the time I felt like I was barely keeping my head above water.
  • At one point, I said the EXACT WRONG THING and completely confused my Precal class. And well, I felt pretty stupid.
  • The previous teacher in my position was what some might call a legend. He was there for over 25 years. He was pretty tough, but most of the students respected and admired him. That’s kind of intimidating and difficult to follow. And I can tell already that a fair number of my students are more than a little skeptical of me. That new teacher. She is verrrrrry different. 
  • The “Math is like…” activity from @MrOrr_geek was a huge hit. The administration and the English teachers loved it! My students did an awesome job with it and really surprised me with their creativity. I’m planning to post about it soon. 🙂
  • I’m super lucky. Fortunate. Blessed. Whatever you want to call it. I could not ask for a better school to begin my teaching career in. The administration is fantastic. The teachers are the real deal. I’m really thankful to be in such a positive place where I’m encouraged to be creative and do my best.
  • My first week of plans could have been an advertisement for Illustrative Math. I love how easy it is to find activities that match the standards!
  • All the praise hands for #MTBoS!!!!! I can’t say this enough.  I couldn’t have survived the first week without y’all.
  • Also, my feet hurt.
3 thoughts on “my first week.

  1. Congrats! It feels so good to remind ourselves during the hard times that we can find peace in knowing we are being obedient to God’s plan.

    If your feet hurt, then you need danskos. They aren’t cute and they are expensive, but they totally help you manage to be on your feet all day long.

    Like

Leave a Reply

