One month.

Y’all. I have officially taught for 4 weeks.

So basically, I’ve got it all figured out.

KIDDING.

Really, it’s just the opposite.

You know all those people who said that the first year of teaching was really hard?

Well, they weren’t exaggerating. At. All.

It’s pretty humbling to be so crazy excited & full of ideas, only to realize that you still have SO MUCH to learn. I want to be a great teacher, but most days I feel like I’m just barely keeping my head above water. I want to make a difference in students’ lives, but I wonder if I’m getting through to them at all.

It’s hard being new. Trying to make some teacher friends. Trying to prove myself. Trying not to look like an idiot. Trying to not let the students get to me.

Teaching is not for wimps. And there are days when I wonder if I can actually do it.

There have been tears. Lessons that didn’t go as planned. Students sent to the office. Test grades that were awful. [That time I totally messed up a diagram during notes].

But there also have been good times. When a student told me I was their favorite. When a teacher told me that students were talking about me… in a good way. 🙂 When my first evaluation went well. When we all laughed and had fun during Rainbow Logic & Kahoot!.

So, basically? TEACHING IS SO FREAKING HARD. And I’m already exhausted just thinking about going back tomorrow.

But I’m going to keep trying. Because I know it’s worth it. And I know that nobody starts out being great at anything. And I know that students who need love the most are often the hardest to love. And because I want to know if this teaching thing EVER gets any easier.

b77cceff506b34f7c31fd2a51c8ec6ae

7 thoughts on “One month.

  1. I am so glad you are blogging about your new adventure in teaching!
    I’ve always been pretty quick to catch on to new things but Just know that my first few months working as a nurse, I cried every evening, was usually too exhausted to eat, and kept those bucket margarita people in business! Then came motherhood and let me tell ya, there are many days I long for that bucket again! Haha! It gets better! Hang in there. Those students are so fortunate to have you and you are there in some capacity for His purpose. Hugs friend!

    Like

    1. Carrie – you are too sweet! Thanks so much for the encouragement. Life is just never as easy as I’d like it to be. 🙂
      P.S. Adding a margarita bucket to my grocery list.

      Like

  2. Love all of this! Everything you say is so true. I keep hoping teaching will get easier too – I think nothing compares to the 1st year, but the first few weeks are hard no matter what. Thanks for the reminders of why to keep showing up in the last paragraph! Hope you have a great day back tomorrow!

    Like

  3. Teaching is one of the hardest jobs there is, and there is ALWAYS room to grow! Hang in there – there will be more tears, but hopefully fewer and farther between after the first few months. And even though this is my 11th year, sometime during the first week of school, I always have a complete breakdown (at home!). Keep track of those joyous moments – food for your teacher soul. And keep writing!

    Like

  4. Ali Grace, I’m sure you are doing a wonderful job! This is my third year and I still feel ALL of those things you said (just substitute wrong part of speech on vocab word). It gets easier, but as it does, something new gets thrown into the mix to make it difficult again. All we can do is keep trying and loving our students. I can’t wait to read more as you get further into the year!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

