New teacher burnout.

New teacher burnout. I’m calling it a thing.

People have said, “You haven’t been doing this long enough to be tired”.

BUT I AM. I’m so tired.

 

All the newness has worn off. My energy has dwindled. And now, we’re here, deep in the trenches of the mid-semester doldrums and I am just. so. tired.

 

Teaching hormonal high schoolers is no joke, y’all.  (Well, there is plenty of laughing involved. Lots, actually. Kids are funny! It’s just not easy. It’s not easy at all.) 

So yeah. I’m tired. I’m not feeling quite as excited and energized as I did at the beginning.

 

But still–I’m happy to be a teacher.

 

Sure. I don’t always feel happy. But still I know I’m in the right place.

I’m happy to be a teacher because it’s wonderful to be a part of something. It’s a privilege to be a part of my students’ lives. And because I want to make a difference.

 

So even though I’m tired, I’m rallying (and drinking more coffee than I care to admit). God has placed me here. For such a time as this. I don’t want to waste it.

I may not be the best teacher my students have ever had. In fact, right now I’m SURE I’m not. I lose energy midweek. I get frustrated when they ask the same question for the millionth time. I get SO tired of asking them to be quiet. And my lessons definitely need some work. (hello, last minute Kuta worksheets). But I’m dang sure going to keep trying. I want to be a good teacher. Really bad. And I care about my students. I really do.

So for now, I’m calling that a win.

 To all the new (and veteran!) teachers out there who have no idea what they’re doing but keep trying anyway, solidarity. 

8 thoughts on “New teacher burnout.

  1. Girl, teaching is HARD WORK, even for us old veterans (especially for us OLD veterans! lol). It’s tougher the first year because you’ve never done it before, and you have ZERO lessons and ZERO things to fall back on. Plus, you have to figure every single thing out for the first time. You have to navigate what to say and do every minute of every day. Nothing is automatic yet. But it will be! And you will still be tired, because good teachers always work too much. But it will get so much better, and you will get so much better! I still totally bomb a lesson at least once a week. But it is how I learn and grow! Be sure to take one day, like Saturday, completely OFF so you feel like a human again. And read these letters. http://drawingonmath.blogspot.com/p/matheme.html#Letters. We wrote them for amazing teachers just like you! ❤ THANK YOU for teaching math!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Exactly what Julie said. Teaching IS hard, and it should be; it’s so damn rewarding.

    At the same time, know that you have a whole group of people ready and willing to support you online. Lean on us. Challenge us. Allow us to be that shoulder, that mirror, that sounding board.

    You rock.

    Like

  3. You can do this. You’ve got this. It will get easier.

    Funny thing about your first year. Those students will be so special to you. I see kids from my first few years (who are now late 20’s) and I remember their names and specific details about them. Now I struggle remembering names with kids I taught last year. (To be fair I have taught for 14-15 years and there are a lot of names in my head.)

    Like

    1. Ha. I kind of feel sorry for my students right now. They definitely are not getting the best end of the deal. But I do think I’ll remember them for forever! 🙂

      Like

  4. You’re absolutely right, new teacher burnout is a THING! Every little thing in teaching is new and since there are no right answers (only better/different answers), the stress of all those decisions is huge. I agree with Julie, take at least one day totally off, no school at all, eventually try to make that the vast majority of your weekend. Maybe Monday will be a bit harder, but you’ll adapt and be much happier because of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

